Niko Strobach is professor for Analytic Philosophy at Saarland University in Saarbruecken / Germany.

His main areas of research in theoretical philosophy are logic and metaphysics, especially the philosophy of space and time, and ancient philosophy. His teaching in Saarbruecken includes logic, ontology / metaphysics and medieval philosophy. Recently, he has been especially interested in the philosophical aspects of perspective and perspective change.

He was born in Brunswick / Germany in 1969, where he went to school before studying philosophy (and some psychology and political science) at Westfaelische Wilhelms-Universitaet in Muenster / Germany and Edinburgh / Scotland. A revised version of the PhD thesis he submitted in Muenster in 1995 was published under the title "The Moment of Change" by Kluwer (Dordrecht) in 1998. During his time as Wissenschaftlicher Assistent with Hermann Weidemann (Muenster) and Bertram Kienzle (Rostock) he worked on his habilitation thesis on branching spacetime which he submitted in Rostock in 2005, which won the Wolfgang-Stegmueller award of the German Society for Analytic Philosophy (GAP) in 2006 and was published as "Alternativen in der Raumzeit" [Alternatives in spacetime] in 2007.

Before obtaining a tenured position in Saarbrücken in 2008 he co-founded the Centre for Logic, Theory and History of Science (ZLWWG) in Rostock and worked as a visiting professor in Rostock, Dresden and at Humboldt University Berlin. He is a member of the steering committee of ESAP and of the advisory board of MSH lorraine. Since 2001 he has been one of the two editors of the successful series "Einfuehrungen Philosophie" [Introductions to Philosophy] published by Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft Darmstadt.

Niko Strobach is married and likes cooking, travelling and music.

Niko Strobach ist Professor für Analytische Philosophie an der Universität des Saarlandes.

Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte in der theoretischen Philosophie sind in systematischer Hinsicht Logik und Metaphysik, besonders die Philosophie von Raum und Zeit, und in historischer Hinsicht die antike Philosophie. Zu seinen Lehrgebieten in Saarbrücken gehören Logik, Ontologie und mittelalterliche Philosophie. In letzter Zeit interessieren ihn besonders Perspektivität und Perspektivenwechsel.

Er wurde 1969 in Braunschweig geboren, ging dort zur Schule, studierte in Münster und Edinburgh Philosophie und nebenher etwas Psychologie und Politikwissenschaft. Er wurde 1995 in Münster mit einer Arbeit zum Augenblick des Wechsels promoviert. Sie wurde 1998 im Verlag Kluwer in Dordrecht unter dem Titel "The Moment of Change" als Buch veröffentlicht. In seiner Zeit als wissenschaftlicher Assistent von Hermann Weidemann (Münster) und Bertram Kienzle (Rostock) arbeitete er an seiner Habilitationsschrift "Alternativen in der Raumzeit", mit der er sich 2005 in Rostock habilitierte. Sie wurde 2006 mit dem Wolfgang-Stegmüller-Preis der Gesellschaft für Analytische Philosophie (GAP) ausgezeichnet. Vor dem Wechsel nach Saarbrücken 2008 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Zentrum für Logik, Wissenschaftstheorie und Wissenschaftsgeschichte (ZLWWG) in Rostock und vertrat Professuren in Rostock (Formale Philosophie), Dresden (Logik und Wissenschaftstheorie) und an der HU Berlin (Philosophie der Antike und der Gegenwart).

Er ist Mitglied der GAP und der Gesellschaft für antike Philosophie (GanPh), des steering committee der ESAP und des wissenschaftlichen Beirats der MSH lorraine. Seit 2009 ist er, neben Barry Smith, Direktor des IFOMIS. Seit 2001 ist er Mitherausgeber der Reihe "Einführung Philosophie" der Wissenschaftlichen Buchgesellschaft Darmstadt.

Niko Strobach ist verheiratet, kocht gern, reist gern und macht Musik.